Summer In The City: Hot Day In Toronto!

8 Jun

How do you stay cool in the city when it has reached a record-breaking high of 34 degrees with the humidity feeling like 43?

I will tell you.

  • Drink plenty of water to stay well hydrate.
  • Don’t over exert yourself
  • Go swimming
  • Wear a hat /Sunglasses
  • Find shade
  • Wear cotton clothing
  • Find a cooling centres in your city
  • Use a fan but at the same time you are circulating warm air on yourself, however, if you close your windows, turn off the lights you should be fine
  • Soak a cloth with cold water and put on your body to keep help it cool
  • Air conditioner of course
  • Mr. Freezie, Ice Cream, Popsicle, Cold Fruits will help keep up you cool

For me it was really easy to stay cool. I live in a bsmt apartment you see, therefore, it was really comfortable and cool! A lot of people has this notion that living in bsmt apartments are bad, small, not enough windows and so forth. Not for me.

As I’m chilling at home, checking emails/responding,  and returning phone calls, my neighbor dropped by quickly just to see how I was dealing with this weather. She was telling me how horrid it was outside. she loved how cool my place was and didn’t want to leave. I had to kick her out cause I had things to do. Not fond of people dropping by un-announced, that pisses me off.

Here is the thing people, when you live in a building, a house or what not the heat rises up unfortunately.  so, for me this summer I will be in heaven!

Until Next Time

4 Responses to “Summer In The City: Hot Day In Toronto!”

  1. marinasleeps June 8, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    34 degrees??
    Its a 100 here.. uhhhhhhhhh

    • Thoughts AfterDark Lounge June 8, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      We reached a record-breaking high today with a high of 34 degrees but when you factor the humidity it felt more like 43! It was crazy. Thank god I live in a bsmt apartment where it’s cool otherwise, I would have died.
      Where you are is 100?? OMG….how did you stay cool?

      • marinasleeps June 9, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

        Not moving! Seriously and basking underneath the air conditioner!

      • Thoughts AfterDark Lounge June 9, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

        Wow, it was that hot there? Dam. Thankfully for me, my place was nice and cool….no need for an air conditioner:) how did the kids deal with it?

Leave a Reply

